Jun 13

Many applications store data in the “My Documents” folder.  Unfortunately, by default this folder is buried at “C:Documents and SettingsUserNameMy Documents”.

A smarter approach is to separate your programs and data.  For example, I store the operating system and programs on my C: drive and all data on my D: drive. 

But simply moving your data is not enough–you need to tell applications and the operating system where to find it.

To change the default location of the “My Documents” folder:

  1. Click the Windows Start button.  The “Start” menu appears.
  2. Right-click on My Documents, then seelct Properties from the popup menu.
  3. Ensure the Target tab is selected.
  4. Click the Move button. 
  5. The “Select a Destination” dialog appears.  Select the folder where you want to store your documents, then click OK.
  6. The “Move Documents” confirmation dialog appears.  Click Yes to move your documents to the new location.

IMPORTANT: If at any time during this process you decide to cancel, be sure to click the Cancel button in the “My Documents Properties” dialog as well.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Reddit
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • DotNetKicks
  • StumbleUpon
  • Slashdot
  • Technorati
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Print
  • email

Article published on June 13, 2007




3 Responses to “Move “My Documents” Folder”

  1. 2007 June 15 » I Think, Therefore I Rant! Says:

    […] I am at it, here is a good reference to show how to change the location of your My Documents.  I didn’t know how to do this until a friend showed […]

  2. Noldo Says:

    What will happen if I have all my programs and Windows in C: and my documents destination set to D: and then I need to install Windows, since a full reinstall will delete this folder, if I have it under D: will it be erased?

  3. Timm Says:

    Re: “What will happen if I have all my programs and Windows in C: and my documents destination set to D: and then I need to install Windows, since a full reinstall will delete this folder, if I have it under D: will it be erased?”

    If you re-install Windows to C:, your data on D: will be fine. However, you will need to use the process above to tell the new Windows installation that your data now resides on D:

Leave a Reply